The Longest Night

My eyes grow tired
Struggling to stay open
Through this dreamless night

Every path sealed off
All the doors closed except for one
Atop the tower

It is a far climb
In this state I won’t make it
I must become more

Take the road to awe
Climb the porcelain tower
To stare Hades down

Sometimes to prevail
One must give up everything
Be stripped down to skin

For in this moment
Abandoning what one has
Reveals what one is

For I am a man
But I feel like I am more
I must take that chance

Through the dreamless night
I tarry on finding strength
A solace in you

~ by songoflove on April 18, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
