Whisper Back (draft)

I see you
standing in a crowd, like you’re waiting for something
A name on the tip of your tongue who never shows
Like some kind of ghost| some sort of fleeting shadow
A voice in your head, whispering hello

Just whisper back
Let me know that you can hear me
The friendly ghost from all your dreams I know you’ve seen me
And that might be all
that I become but I’d still take it
Each step I take gets harder, but I’d still make it
Just to be with you

If I had one wish
It’d be that all your dreams play out in all your days
And this world is just a stage for you to shine on
because I’m not me | unless you’re blessed beyond your wildest dreams
on a throne fit for no one but a queen
For no one but you

So just whisper back
Let me know that you can hear me
The friendly ghost from all your dreams I know you’ve seen me
And that might be all
that I become, but I’d still take it
Each mistake I’ve made you know that I’d still make it
Just to be with you

(bridge)
And the ache still grows
And my tears begin to show
But in spite of all the pain
I’d do it all again

For just one chance in a million | that…

You’d whisper back
And let me know that you had heard me
The friendly ghost from all your dreams, you’d seen me
And all we’d become
was no longer just a dream and suddenly

I’d know you’d seen it too

Please whisper back.

~ by songoflove on March 28, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
