Regarding “Comparative Insight/Reality”

I wrote this after having to resist a hard sell to take my meds (prior to having a Court Order requiring me to, mind you).  Now this technique was a mix of assumptive language, and attempts to cause me to lash out physically or even strongly verbally, which could have led to them having cause to force me to take my meds (all while my mind was still cloudy from the morning and prior day’s medication), so it was basically a conversational tightrope walk while high (on meds that alter your emotional sense of normal, mind you, so I had to tread very carefully) to clearly explain and deny further mind altering medication.  The conversation was easily comparable to my time in sales, I caught multiple ‘trial closes’ and bouts of assumptive language (‘how about we just have you take the meds, and then figure the rest of this out in the morning’)  Keep in mind, I understand this guy was just doing his job, so I’m omitting his name like the rest, I just disagree at a core level with this aspect of this guy’s job description, which is basically use any trick in the book to get a patient to take their medication, irrespective of whether they need it or not.  This could have easily been another individual on the staff, I think he just drew the short straw, and had additional techniques the others staff members hadn’t tried (I had to defend my ‘no meds’ position multiple times per day while I took that stance.)

Now the reasoning behind why I had stopped taking them interestingly enough had a lot to do with an argument this guy tried to use to get me to take them, an argument he called “Comparative Insight” or “Comparative Reality.”  To the best of my recollection, his working definition of comparative insight  is that after a few days of taking a drug, only then are you well enough to make a cogent argument about not taking medication or to gauge your own mental health.  In a nutshell, you must be on the meds to have a valid perspective, if you were not on them, you would be sick, and would therefore not have a leg to stand on.

Comparing a gauging physical vs psychological issues vary greatly in their complexity.  Generally, humans share similar pain responses, physically, and if you ask someone their pain level on a scale from 1-10, they can give you a meaningful answer.  This is not true is you ask someone for their psychological pain on the same scale.  It becomes much harder to pinpoint, when dealing with matter of the mind.  Unfortunately for mental health organizations, they are often forced to guess what is wrong initially, an educated guess, prior to seeing the patient in their “right mind.”

If someone gave you psychoactive drugs for the next five days, moved you to an unfamiliar environment, and questioned your sanity frequently during that time, you would almost certainly question your sanity as well.  Comparative Insight, where by one begins to adapt to a drug after a few days of taking it, is unfortunately a straw man argument.  It is saying that you are well now because of what was given to you at the hospital, when in reality a huge number of factors changed at that same time, so pinpointing the efficacy of the treatment to the medication in these cases is dangerous and presumptive.  I needed to remove this piece of ammunition from their reserves, so I needed to clear my system of all the drugs before considering taking more (I also initially wanted to go to court sober, but adjusted that plan after consideration) Additionally, for someone like myself, I had never had the opportunity to hear out the doctors regarding what they wanted to prescribe me, or throw in my two cents, while sober.  I took psychology and have looked up drugs and their action on the brain for some time, and I am cautious at this point as to what I put into my body.  Since this was a doctor recommending medication, not requiring it as they could on a court order, I exercised my rights (to a slough of staff pressure to the contrary) to remain sober for a time.

Only when I was sober could the hospital hope to gain actual insight into my condition.  I walked into The Desert Vista facility high from whatever CBI had given me, and I had walked into CBI high on (medical) marijuana and a couple other legal things (like caffeine, alcohol, lack of sleep).  This seems obvious to me, and should be for anyone who is familiar with the scientific method, that you need to be able to conduct an experiment (providing a patient with a type of drug) in order to test your hypothesis (this drug makes a positive impact on his thought process).  If you’ve muddied the waters with other drugs, as the experimenter (or in this case the Psychiatric Hospital system), you have no valid starting position to begin making claims- you are changing both the starting position of the game board and the rules of the game itself by altering the patient’s mental state and then asking them to describe their mental state.  It is experimentally meaningless at best, but really negatively impacts someone’s mental health at worst, by getting them to question (possibly without grounds) their understanding of reality.  Once they’ve questioned that to a serious degree, it takes a lot to get it back.  Especially when the diagnosis of insanity is reinforced by 1 year of psychosomatic and psychotropic reinforcement with the Court Order Treatment.

 

~ by songoflove on March 6, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
