A Game of Cat and Mouse

I don’t deserve this
There is an inequity
I deserve much worse

But I was promised
And now that I’ve seen, I crave
child like, I believe

God, I still believe
Dash their doubts, I never stopped
Next time, doubt doubters

Do I know you now?
Do I see you everywhere?
Yet still not your face?

There is a cruelty
To letting this state linger
Yet I believe still.

I can’t see the end
But it must be beautiful
For now, overwhelmed

Blinded by your light
Blasted senseless by your voice
Ringing in my ears

Please fish or cut bait
A man pleads to you O’ God
I am not a mouse.

~ by songoflove on February 24, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
