Take Your Armor Off

One more misunderstood word falls flat
One more “what just happened” moment
Where your eyes gloss over and you walk out my door
I’m starting to realize that your response is one half confusion
And the other half’s a wall

As you leave all I want to say is

Take your armor off
Let your guard down for one night
And you might love the result

But maybe that’s what you’re afraid of
Losing yourself, when you don’t even know who you are
But this planned chaos will lead us nowhere
So please
Take your armor off

I know you think it’s a necessary precaution
Because the world’s way is to siege any castle
With challenging walls
And plunder so sweet

And maybe you think I’ll strip you bare
Forcefully removing every piece until your soul is brought to light
But believe me, I’ve assessed it, and I fear it may never work
Until you willingly expose one weakness
Just remember why you came
And that the world moves
to the clear beat of an exposed heart
If you can hear me…

Take your armor off
Let your guard down for one night
And you might love the result

But maybe that’s what you’re afraid of
Losing yourself, when you don’t even know who you are
All this static drowns out what’s real
So please
Take your armor off

~ by songoflove on October 16, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
