The Actor and the Hero

So I couldn’t help thinking that maybe my role in this whole thing is not what I think.  I was the one inexplicably drawn.  It was not my decision to pursue her, but I compare the event to dipping your foot into crystal blue water and suddenly being whisked away by an unseen current, never to return to your sunny patch of shore.

The view is stunning, and the trip is life- where virtually none remained.  I am eternally grateful, and I know the path is right, and it has some essence of magic to it.

But I am convinced the magic wasn’t mine.  I didn’t have the skill or focus for that.

Often we consider ourselves the star of the story, but more often than not we are playing a role in another’s play.  My role today is that of her requested knight in shining armor.

The Lord’s plans are perfect.  And how dare I not answer the cry of a soul so powerful yet pure.  I am up for the challenge.  I dip in the waters and I am refreshed every time.  I needn’t come up with any plans.  I simply need to play my role.

~ by songoflove on May 2, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
